GolfGearReview.com - Golf Club, Equipment, and Course Reviews
Top Posters (30 Days)
DON 109
golfpsu 69
srushing 55
Aimee 55
ChrisB 43
dmband8985 9
DocT 7
kevboy_telford 6
BK4464 5
Bill H. 5
87vert 3
D.neil 2
ryno 2
Ivan 2
Hoganman1 2
acemot 2
fjjra 2
WGE 2
mac565 1
SKLZ Golf Team 1
pompjr 1
jk1 1
TeeMax 1
KGaff 1
Site News
Course Reviews
(This Month)

golfpsu9
prov1tony4
dmband89851
14


Gear Reviews
(This Month)

golfpsu5
dmband89852
andy1
prov1tony1
9


Latest Feature

Will Michelle Wie now go to the next level? - I can’t say that I’m a huge Michelle Wie fan.

She’s a gifted golfer and, even at 20 years old, has shown glimpses of the talent we’ve heard about for the last 10 years or more. So I do have t...
Advertisers
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#34055 - 07/21/09 03:18 AM Golf website (to buy clubs)
rvickner81 Offline
Hacker

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 9
Loc: Grand Island, NY
Was wondering if anyone heard of or bought from http://www.mysurbuy.com, wedge prices seem close the same to GG and golfsmith but irons and drivers seems to be very aggressivly priced. My gut is telling me is one of those too good to be true things, was looking at a set of Callaway x20 and they have the for $230, seems very low?? possibly knockoffs? I did a DNS lookup on their web address and it appears to be from here in the States so I dont know.

Top
#34056 - 07/21/09 03:41 AM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: rvickner81]
rvickner81 Offline
Hacker

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 9
Loc: Grand Island, NY
ugh nevermind did some digging, all counterfit

Top
#34057 - 07/21/09 04:23 AM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: rvickner81]
srushing Offline

Vance
*****

Registered: 10/28/06
Posts: 2865
Loc: North Carolina
Yeah, looks like the same shop maybe that was doing the other site for clubs. One site I like to use to investigate these places is Alexa.com. they'll give you the demographic background of the traffic, and again, this one is like 80% from china. The other thing I do is do a WHO IS search on the domain name. This one lists the main address of somewhere in Alaska, with a zip code of 10001. Everything I see in Google says zip 10001 is in NY. So stuff just doesn't add up and best to stay away


Edited by srushing (07/21/09 04:24 AM)
_________________________
Golf is a game that can't be won, it can only be played - Bagger Vance

Top
#34073 - 07/21/09 03:00 PM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: rvickner81]
prov1tony Offline
Champ
***

Registered: 05/27/09
Posts: 103
Loc: San Ramon, CA. USA
After reading Srushings post on golf galexy I went to the one north of me and they had some good deals. I was only looking for iron covers and balls but they definately have good deals in store or on line.
_________________________
Perception, not possession is 9 tenths of the law

Top
#34779 - 09/14/09 03:24 AM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: MIKE023]
87vert Offline
Pro

Registered: 06/04/09
Posts: 98
Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
Originally Posted By: MIKE023
i am not sure the site, you mentioned.but a month ago, one of my friends told me that he just reveived the club from www.shoponlinewholesaler.com.firstly , he doubt the quality because the price is low, but upon received, everything is in good condition.it seems it is a great price.


Whois Record

Domain Name : shoponlinewholesaler.com
PunnyCode : shoponlinewholesaler.com

Registrant:
Organization : Dexter
Name : Dexter
Address : Chong Qing
City : shixiaqu
Province/State : chongqingshi
Country : china
Postal Code : 400051

Administrative Contact:
Name : Dexter
Organization : Dexter
Address : Chong Qing
City : shixiaqu
Province/State : chongqingshi
Country : china
Postal Code : 400051
Phone Number : 86-023-86766573
Fax : 86-023-86766573
Email :



Its a fake...

Top
#34781 - 09/14/09 03:26 AM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: 87vert]
Aimee Offline
Hogan
****

Registered: 06/27/05
Posts: 1943
Loc: NJ
You can spot them pretty easily
One post, it's an advert
_________________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits. ~ Albert Einstein

Top
#34785 - 09/14/09 12:53 PM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: Aimee]
DON Offline

Vance
*****

Registered: 05/04/05
Posts: 4648
Loc: Aurora, Colorado
Okay, the post has been deleted for being nothing more than an ad. As Aimee stated, if the first post by a new member has a link to a golf site, you know it's an ad, and most likely counterfeit as well.
_________________________
Putting is easy, IF you have the right putter.
Later, Don.

Top
#35013 - 10/13/09 07:09 PM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: DON]
m93092
Unregistered


http://www.golfbargainoffers.com looks like the same with http://www.mysurbuy.com ,are they the same company?? all counterfeit!


Edited by m93092 (10/13/09 07:09 PM)

Top
#35024 - 10/14/09 08:25 AM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: ]
srushing Offline

Vance
*****

Registered: 10/28/06
Posts: 2865
Loc: North Carolina
I would say yes. Almost 80% of their traffic is from China so I wouldn't buy anything from there.
_________________________
Golf is a game that can't be won, it can only be played - Bagger Vance

Top
#35075 - 10/21/09 09:52 AM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: ]
DON Offline

Vance
*****

Registered: 05/04/05
Posts: 4648
Loc: Aurora, Colorado
All of the site you guys keep posting links to are selling CHEAP JUNK. Please stop posting links to these sites, you're not helping the problem.
_________________________
Putting is easy, IF you have the right putter.
Later, Don.

Top
#35082 - 10/21/09 01:17 PM Re: Golf website (to buy clubs) [Re: ]
srushing Offline

Vance
*****

Registered: 10/28/06
Posts: 2865
Loc: North Carolina
Well I don't, but with a little web searching I was able to find that 85+% of the traffic to the site was coming from China. Now at least one of the sites listed their address (in the registration of the domain which you can find by doing a WHOIS search at Netsol.com) and the address did not exist. It was a made up US address. So for me, that's far to un-trust-worthy for me to risk my money on.
The address you mention shows about 78% of the traffic coming from China, 12% from the US and 10% from elsewhere.

So if the clubs you are looking at have a price too good to be true, they are likely counterfeit.
_________________________
Golf is a game that can't be won, it can only be played - Bagger Vance

Top


Moderator:  Aimee, ChrisB, DON, laney, srushing 
Golf Gear Review
GolfGearReview.com's Facebook Page



DicksSportingGoods.com
Forum Stats
1577 Members
13 Forums
3011 Topics
30580 Posts

Max Online: 253 @ 01/23/07 06:01 PM
Who's Online
0 registered (), 9 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
SKLZ Golf Team, acemot, ryno, Robert L, cherishyou
1576 Registered Users
Top Posters
DON 4646
Bill H. 3148
srushing 2865
mr_divots 2341
Aimee 1942
laney 1397
Wade 1197
ChrisB 1070
DocT 840
jake0716 799
flomarilius 623
jjw901 616
fjjra 578
Klun 422
Chief 391
JP4 378
kevboy_telford 250
Bo54 247
boonfei80 174
selftaughtman 170
hobert 166
Caddy545 155
dhproteam31 151
SoxfaninTN 126
Andrew Penner 107
rick 105
TRIP 105
Jesh 104
prov1tony 103
HanesOnU 103
AndyS 101
87vert 98
jp4LSU 84
jrlove 81
racine 78
reiny 75
Bobby Plemons 74
Kevin1962 74
golfpsu 73
Joe Golfer 73
Chris Morgan 68
DevSr65 59
Blakey 56
LaddieGolf 56
5803 53
ScratchGolfDoc 53
jhettena 52
Michael 50
JStormz 49
just plain bill 49
Sponsor